The greatest, little pleasures

Standard

Strange as it may sound as down as both of us often get, worrying about the future…. It is Aysha’s autism that brings us the greatest joy

Little achievements, tiny little things like asking to go on a fairground ride for the first time aged 16 and then wanting to go on another has reduced me to tears of joy. I still look back and remember our annual trips to winter wonderland, Aysha stuck to my arm like glue. Me asking her gently if we should try one of the gentle rides and seeing her face etched with the pain of anxiety and frustration. I would reassure her and we’d carry on circling around the theme park aimlessly 
It was 2 winters ago that I asked the same question and she replied “maybe” I actually thought I heard incorrectly. My Aysha who has impaired visual perception, can’t balance and is scared of sudden movement. I looked at her smiling shyly at the the intimidating ride in front of us and actually thought I was going to burst out crying
Rehan and I had a quick squabble about who was going to take her and decided he would be better off holding my handbag and taking photos 
Aysha stayed calm on the ride while I screamed for Britain. Half screaming for fear of my life, half out of the sheer joy of knowing Aysha had done it, something she had wanted to do for so many years but felt unable to
We then ran across to another ride and then another…. She did it!
And nothing on this planet could have made us happier 

Leave a comment